Celiac disease is the cause of gluten and gluten-free diets that have been heard and discussed frequently in recent years. Celiac disease occurs due to the body's immunity to gluten. Celiac disease is a type of disease that can be congenital or can occur later. Although celiac disease usually occurs due to genetic factors, environmental factors are also effective on this disease. So we've organized the information about celiac disease for you. We wish you healthy reading!

What is Celiac?

Celiac disease is a type of disease that is increasing day by day and becoming more common. According to some studies conducted in many countries, one out of every 70 people and one out of every 200 people has celiac disease. Celiac disease is a type of disease associated with gluten. Gluten, which is called the natural protein found in many grains, occurs as a result of the immune system's reaction in the human body. The body has produced immunity against enzymes that break down gluten in celiac patients. The diagnosis of celiac disease is made by the physician according to the symptoms that occur as a result of inflammation in the small intestine. Whether celiac disease is an allergic symptom is still under investigation. There is no clear evidence and data on this subject. 

What Causes Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is a genetic disease. The probability of having celiac disease in a first degree relative of celiac patients is 1%. Celiac disease is a type of disease that can develop and emerge later. The causes of celiac disease are as follows;

· Genetic Factors

· Environmental factors

Immune system resistance to gluten 

Nutritional habits (gluten-based diet)

Intestinal bacteria

Gastrointestinal infections (the tubular structure between the mouth and the anus (the structure within the cell and tissue) and the system infections, the main task of which is the digestive system, consisting of many organs related to it)

What Are the Symptoms of Celiac? 

Just as there is not a single symptom of celiac disease, not all celiac symptoms occur in every patient. The symptoms of celiac disease can change over time. In other words, there may be other symptoms in childhood and other symptoms in adulthood. However, if we list the symptoms of celiac disease, they are as follows;

vomiting

· Diarrhea

Constipation

Weight loss

· Tiredness

· The state of being irritable

Behavioral abnormalities

Developmental delays in growth, short stature for age, prominent abdomen, stiff muscles for age

·       Lack of attention

Bone pain

Blood values ​​and bones calcium depreciation

Findings due to deficiency of vitamins A, E, D and K,

Iron deficiency anemia

Bone or joint pain

Liver diseases,

Gallbladder diseases,

Depression 

· Anxiety

Tingling in hands and feet

Migraine

Menstrual (menstrual irregularity)

· Infertility

Repetitive low

Oral wounds

What Can Celiac Patients Consume? 

There are factors that people with celiac disease should pay attention to. One of these elements is diet programs. Celiac patients cannot consume every food. Below are the foods that celiac patients can consume;

· Vegetable 

· Fruit

· Legumes

Additive-free oil types

· Egg 

· Honey 

· Jam

· Olive

· Meat products

· Fish products

· Chicken products

Flourless preserves

· Corn, rice and potatoes and their flour,

Chestnut, chickpea, soy and grape seed meal

Home dried spices

In addition to these foods, the things to be considered are listed below;

Attention should be paid to nutrition with natural foods.

· Be careful when eating out and ask about the content.

· Do not consume packaged food without reading the label.

Make sure that medicines and cosmetic products are produced gluten-free.

You should avoid contact with gluten-containing products while cooking and preparing meals. 

What Are the Foods That Celiac Patients Shouldn't Consume? 

It is not right for celiac patients to consume every food as it is. Therefore, there are some foods that should be avoided. These foods are listed below. 

Foods containing wheat flour, barley, rye and oats should be avoided. These foods are;

- Bulgur wheat

– Bulgur pilaf

- Semolina

- Macaroni

– Noodles

– Couscous

- Bread

- Cake

- Cookie

- Biscuit

- Patty

- Wafer

– donut

- Simit

– Cracker

- Cornet

– Bakery desserts

– Gluten-containing paste

– Ketchup

– Soups containing flour, sauces, tarhana

– splitting

Foods dipped in breadcrumbs or wheat flour and fried

Drinks containing malt and malt products

Packaged foods containing gluten

- Vinegar

- Chocolate

- Ice cream

- Mayonnaise

- Chewing gum

– Pudding

· Salted and sauced nuts. These foods should not be consumed because they are roasted with gluten.

Due to the lack of consumption of certain foods in individuals with celiac disease multivitamin and mineral deficiency. For this reason, it would be appropriate for celiac patients to consult their doctor and use supplements, vitamins or minerals.

Comment

Please note: comments must be approved before posting.